S-10 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

This message

I am looking for my first S10 truck. Based on fuel mileage and some other factors (including cost!), and through the help of some other S10 owners, I've narrowed the search to a 1995-1997 V6 (auto) 2WD standard cab.

I won't be doing much pulling, only some occasional moderate carrying. Gas mileage is important to me, but so is reliability, ride quality, etc. Acceleration is only a factor if it is not enough for normal highway passing, merging, and standard urban driving.
The '96 gets the best mileage based on fueleconomy.gov.

Snce I am a student, I do not have too much to spend on this truck: $4k tops.

In your opinion, which year's S10, from 1995-1997, is the best? Is there a big difference?

Based on advice from another forum, I'm also planning to mod with EGR and air intake/exhuast; I'll make the money back eventually on gas savings...

Thank you,
Paul

·
Early Member
3,114 Posts
'95's are CPI and not much modifying of the engine can be done. If you are really concerned with fuel economy a 4 cyl. is the way to go.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Thanks for your reply.

Originally I wanted a 4-cyl for that very reason. However, I've been convinced that the power of a 2.3L makes the S10 sluggish: I heard that most 4-cyl owners wish they would have had a V6, despite the decreased fuel consumption.
If this is true, then I'd be wasting all my money _anyways_ on a 4-cyl, so the moderate increase in fuel cost of a V6 seems reasonable:)

Is this your experience also?

Based on your answer, then, I'll consider the '96-97 models only. Does anyone else prefer one year over another, or know of any reasons to not get specific years?

Paul

·
Registered
53 Posts
Gas mileage all depends on one major variable. The driver. Other variables are mechanical condition, towing, tire size. I have made my 97 S10 2.2L 2wd get 18 mpg or 30 mpg.