S-10 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i was wondering which is easier to accomplish doing a V8 swap and why? I have a 96 s-10 and want to do a swap to either a 350 carbed or LS1. I'm looking for power but would rather have driveability and realability I'm a mechanic but looking for advice from ppl who have done this before. Any help anyone can give would be appreicated.

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
my 96 is my back-up to and from work truck so it can be put down for awhile

·
Big Engine, Little Truck
639 Posts
If you subscribe to the theory that less wires means easier, than carb is the way to go. You can make just as much power either way. Only you know your individual mechanical abilities. Carbs can be totally reliable and drivable. The only advantage I can see from going the FI route is fuel milage. If passing emissions is an issue, you will have to go with FI. If not, and it's not a DD, I would say go carbed. Hell, even if it is a DD, I would go carbed.

·
Registered
860 Posts
why would you ever want to carb an LS1? multi port fuel injection is better but carbed motors are simpler to install.

and easyer way would be to swap a TBI 350 into your truck. is it a 4.3L truck? if it is thats just a plug and play swap for the most part. all you'd need is a tbi intake, v8 motor mounts and headers.

EDIT: you'd need a prom chip to but with the 4.3L prom it will still run. your timing curve will just be off alittle.

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
no truck is not a 4.4 its a 2.2

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
that why i would like to put a V8 in it

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·