S-10 Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
274 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have been told it is a pre-muffler, i have been told its a pre-cat... i just wanna know what it is and can i cut it out and put my cut-out there??? it has no wires going to it so i dont think it is a pre-cat. i just dont wanna cut it out and have a bunch of codes pop up on me.

·
No longer a pizza tech.
12,165 Posts
first off, put on a raincoat. go to the carwash. get 50 in quarters and start washing that son of a bitch so we can see what were looking at.

·
Registered
274 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
i know its dirty as hell, i work in the oil field here in east texas i think it would take more than 50 dollars in quarters but its before the cat and right next to the oil pan

·
Gaaoooooo
13,572 Posts
You do realize an open exhaust v6 sounds like shit?

·
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒ&
18,047 Posts
All 4.3s sound like shit...No matter what you do to them...

·
Registered
450 Posts
well id say if theres no o2 sensors after the thing, you could put a cutout there, regardless of how well it sounds. i wouldnt suggest it but hey its your truck go for it, its just not the most popular idea for a stock 4.3. id keep it closed at work though seeing as how you apparently drive through a mud pit everyday hahaha

·
Registered
274 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Well it turned out that it was a "pre-cat"

·
Local Tech
5,407 Posts
Ive got 2 guesses on the OP's next thread title...... "Check Engine Light.... WTF?" or "MIL...... fml" :haha:

·
2.2 Extremist
4,310 Posts
I think it a stopsitfromflopsit valve but what do I know,
x2 on cleaning the underside
and a cutout?? no ****in' way, thats silly

·
goin broke but n style
12,942 Posts
its a pre-cat. i have seen some vehicle cel come on after cutting that one off and seen some that didn't set the cel.

·
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒ&
18,047 Posts
ls1s10onair said:
Ive got 2 guesses on the OP's next thread title...... "Check Engine Light.... WTF?" or "MIL...... fml"