S-10 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
186 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was just wandering what size alternator i should upgrade to because i have 2 amps for my stereo and they are drawing alot of power-------also just out of curiosity what size is the stock alt......... any info would be appreciated

·
Registered
745 Posts
major amperage

I'm not the expert on this but I would look into how many amps those amplifiers pull when you are cranking them up.I have a powermaster 120amp altenator in my truck and a huge 95 ampere exide xxl battery.never had any problems starting my v-8 after playin music for 2hrs.My hiphonics zeus 700 amp pulls over 50 amps when its crankin.Any way the best thing is to use 2 batteries and make sure your altenator wire is big enough to carry the extra juice to charge the batteries.Check out summitracing.com for pricing.

·
Registered
99 Posts

·
/=||=/
589 Posts
stock s10 alt is 70 to 80. I got a delco 100 or 120... cant remember that far back :D after i blew my stock one. I suggest getting a 90 or so and getting a cap for the amp. that should help a lot.

Im at a steady 14.5 volts now running about 2500 watts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Kalgor said:
stock s10 alt is 70 to 80. I got a delco 100 or 120... cant remember that far back :D after i blew my stock one. I suggest getting a 90 or so and getting a cap for the amp. that should help a lot.

Im at a steady 14.5 volts now running about 2500 watts

why do you suggest such a small alt? a bigger alt will create the power while a cap will just temporarily store power. the alt is the most important part of the system as it is the heart of your electrical system