S-10 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Canuck w/Truck
624 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What is the inlet/outlet size on the factory muffler with 4.3?
What size and configuration exhaust do you run on your truck? How dose it sound? Performace? MPG?

·
Registered
1,329 Posts
The factory muffler is a 2 1/2 in and 2 1/4 out. I'm running a custom 2 inch to 3 inch y-pipe, Random Tech cat, and short 3 inch midpipe with a super turbo muffler and downturn. Power is good at all rpm's, mpg with all my mods are averaging 23 mpg. Loud, well lets just say I need a new stereo if I want to hear music.

·
Registered
3,094 Posts
Right now Im running a single in / dual out Flowmaster 40 Series Delta Flow. Its a 2.5" in, dual 2.25" out. On the 4.3L it sounds awesome...:evilg: Never heard one on the 2.2L. There was definately HP improvement, But Im expecting more after I get my headers. Not too sure on MPG, cause I dont may much attention to that.

·
Registered
1,636 Posts
i got a flowmaster 50 series 2.5 in and 3 out dumped over the axle, i love my 50 series, its not all loud and obnaxious like our fellow ricers, with my k&n gen 2 intake, the sound combo from the both, well it sounds bad ass, not all high pitched, its a low rumble! xtreme21

·
drag~N~spark
9,530 Posts
peeps this, my exhaust is custom worked......

ok startin from the manifold there is custom "snake pipe" or as its really called the cross pipe, going to a high flow cat. from there its connected to a 33" glass pack and the there is a short pipe that comes through the front leaf hanger, that way i wouldnt have to cut any pipe for bag setup. then a flared chrome tip thats angled down to the ground.... let me tell ya it is awsome. sounds very good, and it does not come past the very edge of the lower bed. and still has all the clearence that it needs for the bags. even when it lays frame

tell me what ya think, oh and also i have found a way to record the exhaust notes and post them here, tomorrow

peace, steve

·