S-10 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm pretty new to the whole technical aspect of car audio, but i want to add some power to my stock '98 2dr Blazer. The obvious answer is to get a box, but I still want to be able to use my cargo area and back seats. I figure I can cut some holes in the plastic cubby holes infront of the rear wheels. I can fit a 10" sub on each side. My question: what do I need to look for to make a good match between the head unit, amp, and subs. I don't want to spend a lot on it ($300 MAX) So I figure I could get the specs of a good set up and find them on ebay. I just need the power ratings and watts and the other numbers. BTW, I listen to metal (Pantera, Metallica....). I really like the site and I know you guys know your stuff so any help would be apprciated.
Also, I may want to add some neon lighs inside and out. Will I ever have any issues with my power or battery at all?

Thanks

·
bitch
7,884 Posts
silly monkey. $300 won't get you but a cheap 10 and small amp. now move on up to about $600 and you can get a decent small amp and sub with all your wiring.

·
Project: Sabriel
12,507 Posts
yeah, if you crank your system (hell of a lot more than $300) the lights will dim - thanks to the underpowered stock alternator. you'll have to buy an aftermarker (140 and 200 are the sizes i think) but if you really want a system, $300 might buy you a head unit and wires.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well, that's pretty much what I didn't want to hear (about more $$$$). I was hoping to get the specs for a decent set up. Remeber, I don't need a "system" just subs. If I could get an idea of what ratings I need, i'd like to do some of my own investegating locally and on eBay. I just need a rundown of what the important specs are and how to mate them together.
Thanks

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #5