S-10 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Hillbilly Mechanic
294 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok, this is the 2nd time this has happened, first time it blew some of the cords off as well and was leaking pretty good(before i had the setup re done and shocks added), this time its still holding air(being replaced asap) and i just noticed it the other day when i got my winter tires put on.

Im just curious what causes this, defective bag, bad bag angle(when its up), no idea, im pretty new to this stuff and kinda want to understand whats happening here.

Any help would be great, thanks

·
Hillbilly Mechanic
294 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
ive noticed the lower plate has a crazy angle when its lifted up(i drive it pretty low tho so it doesnt bounce so much) but when its down the bag plates are perfectly level.

i can get more pics later this week if needed(not drivin the truck atm...lol)

·
V8 with bags
7,374 Posts
a combination of the angle putting all the tension on one side and it overextending. get some shorter shocks to limit lift, and it wouldnt be a bad idea to maybe re angle the plate to split the difference of the bag angles from lifted to dropped. But the easiest would be to just limit the lift with shorter shocks

·
Hillbilly Mechanic
294 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
ok, thanks guys, i will have the shop do somthing(like i said, this is new territory to me)

I was also suggested to run 2 valves per bag, as it sits right now its 1 fill and 1 dump for the pair, im guessing corners may not have helped that.

Its a heavy truck (between 6500-7000 lbs), so maybe that is an issue also?

Has anyone ran valves mounted OUTSIDE in the winter before? mine are inside the hatch area atm, but space is runnign out fast and was thinking of mounting them to my frame, thoughts?

·
Afterhours Admin
27,121 Posts