S-10 Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I know this has been an ongoing problem for me.....but I have a new theory. And I was wanting some feedback on its effectiveness before I tried it. I haven't really ever gotten any straight answers before, but I have a theory that makes sense to me....just need some confirmation.

I never thought of it before, but my truck has a hypertech chip in it, and I have a programmer with it. I had an MSD box in the truck, didn't have any voltage problems....now, after we took it out, a week or two later I noticed I was having voltage problems where the truck would just bog and everything would dim out at idle and the voltage reader would just drop down to like 10 volts. but when I gave it gas, everything would pep back up again. But, I have read there is a spark advance option on the programmer to adjust. I've never used to programmer before so I dunno....the previous owner set everything, but we took the box out, and never messed with the chip any. So I'm wondering if the Spark advance was set to show that I have an MSD box in there, but since I don;t, it's not pulling as much power from my components as it needs to, so it bogs like that. I've had my battery and alternator ran, which are both brand new, and they're only pulling/pushing out around half of what they should be. Does this Theory sound true that I might just need to go in on the programmer and just reset the spark advance? All help would be greatly appreciated...!!! Thank you!!!

·
Got Fuel Rails?
4,539 Posts
This could be your whistle. Mine was making a farly loud whine. I cleaned the positive terminal of the battery and it went away.

Mine still does have a whistle when i pump the accelerator, but it is a different pitch from the other one.

The msd box doesn't really set the timing, it just amplifies it. Sounds like a charging issue.

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·