S-10 Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All.
Let me start out by telling you what my truck is and what i do with it and what I am after. I have a 1990 s-10 with a 4.3 TBI V6 and 5 speed manual. The engine is getting tired...has 156,000 miles on it so I am starting to think about a v8. I am a college student though so would like to go as reasonable as possible...and I commute - 80 miles a day so gas mileage is also a little important. It is a daily driver and needs to be very dependable.

I am thinking a V8 because why not I guess...I would like my truck to be faster and if I have to replace the engine why not go for the extra performance. My truck is getting lowered shortly (in the next month) 4 in the front (coils and spindles) 5 in the back (leafs and blocks). if this matters. Will my 2" drop coil support the extra weight of the v8? All lowering parts are belltech.

What engine should I go with? I would love to do a lt1/4 but I think they are expensive and a hard swap to do. Any ball park ideas on price? What year and model lt1 is the best for a 1990 s-10? I know a couple places make wiring haresses for the lt1 to a s-10 with this harness, how hard is the swap?

Would a 350 be a better choice? Is carborated alright for a daily driver and gas mileage or would a TBI 350 be better?

As for costs, if i decided to go with a typical small block 350 would I be better to go with a brand new crate engine or getting an old 350 and rebuilding it all? What is cheaper or a better choice?

Will my 5 speed tanny bolt up to a v8? I am unsure yet if I did the swap my might switch it to a automatic because being a daily driver plus I am unsure how good I am at shifting if I were to ever race it. What automatic tranny should I go with for each engine (typical 350 and a lt1)?

What gas mileage (round numbers) could I expect with a lt1? With a TBI 350? With a carbed 350?