S-10 Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off I want to say I have no experience in trans work. Never even took a pan off of one.

So just recently got my 2000 Sonoma 2.2 running and on the road... on the way to work this morning I noticed my rpm's were at 3500-4000 when I was at 60-65mph. So I counted the gears, start off in first and then second and third. I never get the fourth shift. I took it to a local transmission shop. He hooked up a scanner but no codes. So he told me the computer is telling it to shift into fourth but the trans is not responding. He said it could be a stuck valve but this is really rare.

Does anyone have any ideas on what I could do before paying hundreds of my hard earned money for him to even just take a look.

·
goin broke but n style
12,942 Posts
how many miles?
what is fluid level and condition?

is the fluid dark?
does the fluid smell burn't?

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
I think the trans could have possible over 150,000 miles...
The fluid level is unsure. The dipstick tube in it was not the original and too short so I found a dip stick that would not go in all the way so I cut the difference off and made the marks as if it were the end.
The fluid kinda looks like pepto bismo or maybe a little darker....
I pulled the dipstick and smelt the fluid on the end. It does have somewhat of a burnt smell but not strong just a hint.....

I'm gonna go this weekend to the junk yard to pick up the original dipstick tube.

·
Registered
413 Posts
You did say the trans harness was missing when you got the truck, so I would start by checking the plugs on the trans and harness for broken or bent pins and corrosion.

You might also want to test the harness for continuity between the pcm and trans, just to rule it out. If the harness tests good, then it is most likely a bad solenoid or stuck valve in the trans.

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·