S-10 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok im just getting started with my truck (2.2L 1995 sonoma). One problem i cant find any headers does anyone know of them for a 1995. But what i really want to know about is the B&W shift kits. Mines an auto tranny (thats a 4 speed right) What will the shift kit allow me to do. Could i shift it manuly. Is it worth it? Thank you. ( i raced a dakota v8 with duals and a shifter kit wanna try to keep it in site) ok it wasnt that bad lol peace.

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
JCW has two shift kits for the auto's does anyone know how they preform or what they do.

·
Registered
55 Posts
Usually a shift kit drastically shortens the time it takes the tranny to shift gears, making shifts more abrupt and much harder.

Remember to beef up your u-joints and driveshaft if you are serious about this mod.

·
Registered
43 Posts
u joints

That aint no lie about the U joints. i race regularly and i speed shift when i do race. Im now on my third rear U joint. no big deal takes about 30min from begin to end to change. but keep an eye on them if you get a shift kit.

·
Registered
55 Posts
Lakewood used to make a line of U-joints called Bullet Proof.

Kinda pricey, but considering the savings in headaches they were worth it.

You might want to look into it.

·
Registered
55 Posts
Another note to anyone who speed shifts.

It's not always the rear u-joint that fails.

Be sure that you have a driveshaft loop or some type of arresting device should your front u-joint fail.

Otherwise, you could have a big, spinning piece of metal in the ****pit with you. (Ever wondered what it would be like to be in a blender?)

·
Registered
43 Posts
u joints

thanks for the advise. your right about not only the rear going out. just my rear have been going out. but i do check my front U on a regular basis.

·
Registered
43 Posts
u joints

ill have to look into that arrester. that would be bad if it happened.

·
Registered
55 Posts