S-10 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
DoorDragger
994 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Im new to s 10s...I had a Ranger with a 302 hehe. Anyways, I just bougt a 1995 s 10 with the 4.3L Vortec 5 speed. I just joined s10 forum and have a few questions about my truck an s10s in general. First after reading a few posts i keep hearing CPI and TBI. TBI is throttle body injection if im correct but i dont know what CPI is. I think mine is the TBI.
I also wanted to know if any one knows what my HP an Torque are and what mods would be the best bang or the buck. Enginewise my truck is stock except for an Edelbrock airfilter.

·
Registered
88 Posts
CPI= Central port injection.

its easy to tell the difference between cpi and tbi a tbi will have the typical round airfilter with the throttle body in the middle. a cpi will have this big sweet looking(in my opinion) intake that looks nothing like your typical engine and i believe hp wise a tbi is 165 and a cpi is 195. im sure someone will correct me if im wrong.

all i know is my jimmy has a tbi and my friends blaze has cpi and he can haul alot more ass than i can

·
DoorDragger
994 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
AWWW 165 lol eh well its a start. at least its not a 4 cyl. Yes mine is deffinetly the TBI. good mods?

·
Registered
6,374 Posts
numbers are pretty accurate TBI was between 150 to 165 and the cpi was 180-200
and the TBI engine has more capabillities for power not much available for the CPI

the easiest way to tell the difference is a TBI looks like a carb the CPI looks more like a direct port injection manifold

·
Project: Sabriel
12,507 Posts
hm...do a search for TBI mods. there's really not a whole lot, unless you want to convert to a carb.

·
Registered
6,374 Posts
uhhh yeah there is