S-10 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
98 Noma ZQ8
605 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok guys, don't flame, but i must admit i am kinda new to this stereo thing. my last system was installed at a local store because i had no clue. here's the deal. i have a JL Audio 13 W7, i know, huge sub. anyway, what amp should i get to run this thing? i don't really understand this whole RMS, bridged, mono, etc. stuff. so if anybody could just help me out and point me in the right direction that would be great.

·
Registered
746 Posts
RMS wattage is simply the TRUE amount of wattage an amplifier puts out....Companies like Crunch and Rockwood and even Sony and Kenwoods bottom end amps are measured in MAX power.....so when you see $150 for a 1000w amp, you know they're full of shit.......Sure, 1000 watts if lightning strikes it while its playing.....Nowadays, you can expect to pay around 50 cents to a dollar per RMS watt from a quality amplifier...Just make sure you spec out RMS power when you're searching....If the company doesn't show you the RMS power w/o you having to search hard for it, skip it, and move on....

Bridge is simply running two stereo channels in to a single, or mono, audio channel.

·
98 Noma ZQ8
605 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
i alwyas thought that RMS was the MAX wattage. for example, an amp is 400 watts, 800 watts RMS. i guess i'm wrong.

·
Project: Sabriel
12,507 Posts
no, RMS is the amoujnt of power that an amplifier can put out connstantly. do you have the specs for the sub, so you could post them?

·
Computer Geek
6,326 Posts
why use anything but a jl amp with a jl sub. i have 2 10w6v2's in my setup with 1 1000/1 amp powering it and there is more than enough power going to it. i have a pretty good hook up with jl products pm me for more info.

·
98 Noma ZQ8
605 Posts
Discussion Starter #9