S-10 Forum banner

small block wiring

2K views 26 replies 6 participants last post by  Reaper25511 
#1 ·
I'm not a newbie to changing engines in older cars BUT, my son wanted to put a 350/350 combo in his 4 cyl. 2000 S10. We have the motor and transmission mounted, and are starting to plumb the trans and fuel lines. Using a mechanical pump 650 Holley and HEI. Here is where I'm stumped, we put this truck on a serious wiring diet removed most of the harnesses to the engine and the trans. Problem I ran into and should have thought ahead, no power to the starter wire ( assuming it's a trans signal missing) and where do you guys hook up your HEI distributors? Thanks

#11 ·
if by starter wire you mean the solenoid that's easy. from the ignition switch terminal that's powered in the start position run a wire to the solenoid. for the HEI i prefer tapping into a terminal on the fuse panel that is hot in the start AND run position using a 12 gauge wire. what transmission / shifter are you using ? a neutral safety switch or clutch switch is an option and suggested.

#12 ·
Thanks for the response. It's a 93 model 350 4 bolt with an 82 TH350, using a B&M proshifter. Engine should be right at 350 HP. I'm trying to figure out if I need to keep any of the ecm or can delete it altogether? Basically just need some advice on wiring the ignition and HEI. Unfortunately my son nor I have a big budget like some of these folks. And not sure why everyone jumped on me for my pic? It's not about who won or lost. I was just asking for advice. Thanks

#13 ·
No ecm on a carburated engine but there will be issues if the OEM computer is looking for input. Not schooled on the computer interaction in a 2000 but right off the emission control, fuel management are going to send the ecm into a tizzy. You should look into exactly what the ecm controls and address those issues one at a time. The engine itself is easy. Remember that the truck was born with EFI and you are deleting all of that.

#25 ·