S-10 Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the 4.3 motor after having 2 other s-10's with 4 bangers.

When changing the serp belt in the 4.3 v-6 is there a counter balancer or tension adapter that you can put a wrench on & it allows removal of the belt quickly?

For some reason I thought I saw this done but can't recall

·
Searching no more
2,467 Posts
LiLs10Steve said:
I am new to the 4.3 motor after having 2 other s-10's with 4 bangers.

When changing the serp belt in the 4.3 v-6 is there a counter balancer or tension adapter that you can put a wrench on & it allows removal of the belt quickly?

For some reason I thought I saw this done but can't recall
What year do you have? I'm pretty sure all second gens have the automatic belt tensioner at the top. Here's a picture of it. Just place a long wrench on the bolt that I have circled, push it to the left while pulling the pulley to the right. The wrench will give you the leverage to pull up the tensioner and take the belt off. Hope that helps!

·
LT1 Powered
2,467 Posts
mat1583, What a clean alternator!

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I have a 1989 - l that cirlcled looks like mine except yours is clean :)

·
Searching no more
2,467 Posts
Navecm said:
mat1583, What a clean alternator!
I wish I could say it's stock and that I've just kept it that clean...but it's really only about a year or two old :) but thanks anyway!

Oh, and the tensioner is new too. The bearings started going out and it was making a bunch of racket.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Oh yeah thanks for the info Matt

·
My self esteem is lower
1,117 Posts