S-10 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1992 S10 Tahoe 4.3l 5 speed 4x4
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I just bought some sea foam for my 92 s10 4.3l tbi. I was reading some forums about it because I've never used it before and I saw some that were saying you shouldn't do it after changing plugs, wires, cap an rotor, etc. Is this true? If so should I avoid putting the seafoam through the booster line?

·
B4U Task Force Admin
27,668 Posts
Why do you think you need it? What's the problem you're hoping to fix with this snake oil?

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well I just got the truck a couple weeks ago and I've heard that it'll just clean older engines with carbon deposits and such. I've also heard that it's a common part of a tune up

·
B4U Task Force Admin
27,668 Posts
Have you pulled a valve cover to see what it looks like in there? If you do a search on the forum for SeaFoam...almost all say the same thing....save your money. You'd be better off with a high detergent oil. If you have poppets and think that will clean them...it won't

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Well I already bought the stuff. And I read the forums and people swear by it

·
B4U Task Force Admin
27,668 Posts
They're probably swearing AT it. It appears you've made up your mind already.

·
Registered
2003 S10 4.3 2WD
235 Posts
A properly maintained 4.3 doesn't need any treatment like seafoam honestly these engines don't even really seem to have a carbon build up issue to begin with.

Also Seeafoam was designed for 2-stroke engines.

I never use these kinds of treatments. I am usually against treatments and additives in general unless it is lucas (if it burns oil which mine does not so no need) or Prolong which I know for a fact does what it is advertised to do.

But it is your vehicle, your engine I suggest you also look at the negative reviews because some of those negative reviews might make you change your mind.