S-10 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK. First off i'd like to thank anyone and everyone that is help to me on this forum. I'd like to solid axle swap my 01 jimmy at some point. I am getting sick of doing wheel bearings in this P.O.S lol, plus I don't like the idea of off roading with IFS. Seams like stuff would break way to easy.
I have been doing a ton of reasearch on this forum (cuz obviously this is the BEST lol) and I get most of the logistics behind the swap. I can get a hold of 89-90 jeep cherokee front and rear axles, which I believe are dana 30's for cheap.
Now I am a noob to the off road scene, so feel free to put in any tips and hints on getting the job done right. I believe the rear would be pretty simple cuz its already a axle with leafs. I am not lookin for extreme lift, but want a pretty aggressive stance with the ability to go offroading within reason. Like I said I have been doing some research and I have decided that for my build the leafs in the front would be the best and most logical. I know Sky Offroad makes a weld-on leaf shackle kit. That seems like it would be the easiest and most effective way to mount the leafs. I am also thinkin that rough country 3inch lift leafs would be a good start with possably 1or2 inch blocks all the way around. Im pretty sure obviously brake lines would have to be extended.