S-10 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just wanted to test the waters here on a problem i have and see what you guys think.
I am no Mechanic and thats probably reason #1 that i shouldnt have bought an s-10 w/ a v8 but i have a serious problem w/ it now.
My "buddy" that has helped me work out all the bugs with it since it was a "Project Truck" was finished with it when we realized that the water pump had gone out. He started to pull the pump off and got nervous that some of the bolts were going to snap off so he drove it to a local shop where his buddy let him borrow a torch to loosen up the bolts. He got that straight but on the way back to his house where i was in the meantime he called and said he finally found the vibration that he had been describing to me. He then proceeded to tell me that a rod or crank bearing had let go and he was limping it back to his house. A couple of minutes he pulled up babying it to get there and sure enough when you rev the motor there is a bad knock.:rant:
I cant really get upset about it even if he was being hard on it because if it didnt happen to him it would have happended to me.
The issue i have is hwether or not im getting ripped off since he told me "Dont worry, im gonna help you out with this labor cost" since i recently helped him install new carpet in his house for alomst free labor.
He then tells me that he will pull the motor out rebuild the crank, re-ring the motor, install a camshaft and lifters, button everthing back up and re-install it in the truck for $800.00 plus parts!!!!!!!!!!!:(
AM i being rediculous in saying that the worst "buddy" deal iv'e ever heard of or what?:rant:
Im kinda screwed because its in his yard and he's alreay started to take off the frontend of the truck and get started. I will say one thing though, he's a perfectionist and it will be right but im afraid of taking a chance of taking it to another shop and really getiing it handed to me.