S-10 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
673 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok well i have a 94 S10 which needs some work motor wise..So im thinking maybe ill just make it fast instead of the whole airbagged deal.. I was told i could hit mid-high 13s with a 350 w/ cams,full exhaust and intake.. Is this true? its not an ext cab..just a short bed (i guess you call it that? im new to trucks).. So im curious if this is true? What is needed for a swap like this?

·
Sittin on Chrome
1,405 Posts
Reliability depends on how you build the engine & how well you install it.
You can easily do the swap & have a nice daily driver.

·
Registered
673 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
well my friend is telling me "just get a 350, tranny an rear end. Its all easy after that"... but i dont want a junkyard motor thats going to crap out on me... how quick could a 350 w/ cams,intake,exhaust be? No way into the 13s as he says right?

·
Registered
5,573 Posts
Criscone said:
well my friend is telling me "just get a 350, tranny an rear end. Its all easy after that"... but i dont want a junkyard motor thats going to crap out on me... how quick could a 350 w/ cams,intake,exhaust be? No way into the 13s as he says right?
Depends what exhaust/intake/cams you pick, You can build a 500HP 350 for less than 6 grand easily, less than 5 or 4 depending on what parts you pick, that would give you a 13 sec. Truck(with the right tires & susp. Mods)
But it all depends on what parts you pick, certain intakes/cams are better for the 2000+ rpm range, while other are idle - 5000, it just depends what you buy.

Like they always say, speed = $, but yes with a 350 you could make it into the 13s. There's always the Nitrous option as well for cheap speed.

·
LSx and V8 Mod
4,204 Posts
You guys must be running some exotic stuff, or something. I dont know many Chevy engines that have "cams"....They have a single cam...:rolleyes: