S-10 Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 1999 GMC Sonoma SLS extended cab with the ZQ8 package. And the rear end is shot. I don't know if from an accident or any other type of maliciousness as I have just acquired the truck a little over a year ago from my father. And he never wrecked it that I know of but just recently I did find out he had a new passenger side axle put in and "differential kit" put in, and since I've had it I had it in the shop as well to replace the same axle. Anyways moving on I have no money to put this truck in the shop anymore but I still need the truck and it's not running down the road too well. So I just the same year S10 short cab from a friend of mine for 100$(pretty much my budget for this endeavor!lol) but it's just body and frame and rear end and drive shaft now my question is can I put that 4 cylinder short cab rear end in my truck? I've never done a rear end before. I do know the pinion flanges are different. I'm just asking basically if it will work. And maybe how to go about doing it. Like I said I don't have anymore real monies to dump into it but I need the truck on the road ASAP, getting rid of it is not an option. And I'm my mechanic. I've just never done a rear end that's all, I'm a paint shop guy, but I think I can handle this if it's possible? I've turned every nut and bolt on my previous s-10 as well except for the rear end. And almost to that point with this one. Any help will be very much appreciated.
Thanks,
HazMat

·
Been there Done it
15,712 Posts