S-10 Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
331 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so i bought the RCA adapter that plugs into RCA's in the back of the stock headunit. It adapts from RCA to an aux line for an ipod or w/e. Now my question is when I install my sub would this setup work? This may be a really dumb question, but I think that the sub plugs into the RCA hookups in the back if I'm correct. Thanks.

·
Registered
318 Posts
not sure if your radio has pre-outs (ability to send signal outgoing from the radio) like to hook up a sub... if that is an aux hook-up than I believe it to only allow in-coming signals... I am no expert and I could be wayyy off but thats my 2cents... from my understanding they are either ins or outs I dont think they can do both.

·
Blazin on 8!
1,782 Posts
If you have AUX inputs, yes. You can hook up your Ipod to your head unit. If you have pre-outs, YES. You can hook up an amplifier to power your subs/speakers. If you have and AUX input and pre-outs, you can do both... If you only have one or the other, you can't do both.

·
Registered
331 Posts
Discussion Starter #7 (Edited)
If you have AUX inputs, yes. You can hook up your Ipod to your head unit. If you have pre-outs, YES. You can hook up an amplifier to power your subs/speakers. If you have and AUX input and pre-outs, you can do both... If you only have one or the other, you can't do both.
Ok......now the question is does anyone know if I have either? I have the dash apart right now cuz I'm painting it, but I won't take the head unit out til tomorrow night, so if anyone knows now that'd be great. It's a 2000. The link for what it looks like is up a few posts.

·
Blazin on 8!
1,782 Posts
Well, I just now looked at the pic. I didn't know it's a stock head unit. It shows an AUX function, so I would guess you have AUX inputs... Sorry, no pre-outs. You'll have to use line-level inputs for your amp.

·
Registered
2,820 Posts