S-10 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 112 Posts

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just traded my car for this 96 2.2. I am new to this scene, but I have always been a fan and have always wanted a bagged truck. As you can see, it already has a lot of work done to it, but it also needs a lot of work before I can call it "finished".

The only thing I know about this truck is it has a belt driven compressor (old Ford ac unit), 3 gallon tank, firestone bags, reverse 4-link bag on bar rear setup w/ shocks, tubular control arms up front, 3.5" traditional body drop on 20s. I have no idea what type of valves it has, or what size, but I hate how quick it is. One flip of the switch and it jumps up really quick, and goes down hard. Makes it really hard to dial in a good ride height or set it down nice and easy. It is also only set up for front and back controls, and sometimes it sits a bit unlevel unless it's all the way up. To top it all off, there isn't any gauges for me to keep an eye on air pressure in the bags or the tank.

It broke down on me right after the trade, so right now my main concern is getting it back on the road. If I determine that the engine needs replaced, a V8 swap may happen. The door poppers also went out. I also need to install some sort of air filter, reinstall the wipers, and fix the turn signals. It has a reverse 4-link, and since the trade I've read that it's a bad idea. It has been bagged for a while, from what the previous owner has said, and no obvious problems with the reverse 4-link so far, so it may stay or I may decide to change it. The slope of the bed also needs addressed. I need to find out if it's just a problem with the bed, or if the frame needs fixed. There are also a few leaks in the system. It leaked down almost entirely on the tow truck on the two hour drive home, and the tank leaks out fairly quick too. So, here is a list of current goals, in no particular order, once these issues are solved: