S-10 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So the local line-x guy wouldn't get me in for a few weeks so I took my gate to have it rhino lined at the local ziebart. I dropped it off this morning and got a call later saying it was finished but when they peeled the tape it took paint off the top of the gate. I have'nt seen it yet, but I would assume they would be liable to fix this.
Opinions please
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,820 Posts
Ok, so sounds like the tape the used to cover the normal truck paint to keep the liner being oversprayed on to it took some with it.
How new or old was the trucks paint?
Did they use a chemical to prep the surface they were lineing?
Was there any existing chips/etc at the area where they taped off?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
There paint was perfect. It just came back from paint 3 weeks ago and has been sitting since then. I don't know what they used to prep it. I informed them that the paint was fresh
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
181 Posts
Post pics of the damage.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,820 Posts
Pint does have a cure time that can last for months. Most painters/paint shops tell you to not wax for at least a month/etc.
And you told them about it. So I would say there is some liability unless they have a posted anti-liability form or u signed a waiver befrore their work.
Luckily its only the tailgate which is a smaller part to repaint. Plus its fresh repaint so there is the fact its easy to match.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Ok, I ran over to Ziebart real quick to check it out. I am exceptionally pissed. Paint is peeled all the way down the top of the gate.

The guy I talked to said they would not do anything about the paint because they think it wasn't properly prepped, it was dry, and wasnt cleared. It did need to be wet sanded and buffed, but it had clear and I know the prep work was fine.
What Ziebart did do was incorrectly spray the liner. I told them I wanted the line just below where it curves to the top of the gate. Where the radius starts is about 1/4" inch below the top of the gate. They sprayed it flush with the top of the gate. I asked how they would fix that, they said that it would have to be grinded down and resprayed. So they would be fixing the paint anyway. Then they said that I should have marked where I wanted it, like its my fault. They should have paid attention when I told and showed them where I wanted it. I told two guys, one of which was the guy spraying it.
They refuse to fix the paint, so I will talk to the owner on monday and see where I can get with him. I have already contacted Ziebart corporate and my insurance company.

Also, it should be noted that I got it back from paint 3 weeks ago, but it sat for over a week at the paint shop before I got it back. It's had a month of cure time.




 

·
Registered
Joined
·
181 Posts
That sucks, I hope it all works out for you.
 

·
JON
Joined
·
652 Posts
looks like whatever paint that was on the tailgate didnt properly adhere to the surface. i would talk to whoever painted the tailgate. i wouldnt hold the liner guys responsible for the paint peeling off with the tape. the fact that they didnt listen where you wanted the line is a seperate issue. just for fun take some tape and see if the paint will peel off somewhere else on the tailgate then talk to the painter?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
154 Posts
looks like whatever paint that was on the tailgate didnt properly adhere to the surface. i would talk to whoever painted the tailgate. i wouldnt hold the liner guys responsible for the paint peeling off with the tape. the fact that they didnt listen where you wanted the line is a seperate issue. just for fun take some tape and see if the paint will peel off somewhere else on the tailgate then talk to the painter?
What he said. If tape peeled the paint off It is most definitely a paint prep issue.
 

·
Ridin' on Twankies
Joined
·
3,621 Posts
Masking tape shouldn't peel off paint, period.

I'd get in touch with your painter, tell him he owes you a new gate, new paint, and the cost of the lining to be applied to that gate. I'd raise hell. Cause thats the only way shit will get done.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
I have talked with my painter and he wants me to just get my gate back and he will fix it. The owner of this Ziebart has found my posting on another forum and replied to me.

Ziebart owner said:
Firts of All, Let me introduce myself, my name is **** ****, and I own Ziebart Superstore, in Bloomington, IL. My cell phone number is 309-***-****, if you have a problem dont you think you should talk to the owner of the company before coming on here to bash a company.

Secondly, I have been in the Hospital since last Friday, and just got home at about 4:30 pm tonight, so unfurtunately I didn't know about this until I just a few minutes ago from one of my employess.

From review of the pictures it definitely looks as if you have an issue with your paint, we use everyday common masking materials, the same items body shops use, we occasionally have seen this issue of repainted tailgates, it is merely a matter of the paint prep work not being correctly done, but I am no way claiming to be a painting specialist, but I do know that on every one of the other 400-500 trucks we do a year with the same materials, we never have an issue, so I'm sorry to say but your paint is not correct in some manner.

Also, the gentleman that sprays our Rhino has been the only person that has sprayed a Rhino in our shop and has been there for 13+ years, he is very thorough and tries to cater to each and every customer's special neeeds on height, but within a 1/4" is deinitely within allowable tollerances.

I'm sorry that you are not satisfied, I would glady offer you a $25.00 discount, so instead of the $100 + tax, I would let you take your tailgate as is for $75.00 + tax.

Thank You,

**** ****
To which I replied

The paint was shot by a professional in a booth at a shop.

I have discussed it with the painter and he is going to fix the paint and the cut off of the lining. So at least someone is standing behind their work and make it right.

I am not posting about it to "bash" anyone, but to warn people. 1/4" is a huge tolerance and when I say I want something at a certain point, I expect it to be there. Maybe to the average person it doesn't matter, but when it comes to something someone expects to take to car shows, it needs to be exact. When I am blamed for their screw up, I don't take kindly to it. Walking back into the shop to hear them complaining about me is not acceptable.

The paint is a separate issue. The lining being sprayed past where I wanted it is the bigger issue because as they put it, it has to be ground off and resprayed and repainted. That's not going to be cheap.

I only wish I had read all the negative reviews online before going there. If this is made right, I will post about it and they will have done the right thing.
 

·
The Vehicle Dynamics Bro.
Joined
·
4,699 Posts
Id hold them liable and ask them to show you their policy on damages..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
I have heard replies from an employee of the owner of Ziebart, who is apparently representing the owner online.

This is where it has gone on other threads

scrapin_frame said:
employee of owner said:
I will tell the rest of the story: Scrapin frame was called immediatley after the tape was peeled which he is admitting is his painters fault but what he is not telling you guys is that when he was called from ziebart he acted like it was no big deal and it was left at that. Then following day we get a call from ziebart coporate that scrapin frame is complaining to them about the paint wanting us to pay fix it and mind you this is before him even coming in to look at the tailgate so he did not even know how bad it was or for that fact that it wasnt sprayed where he said. So just to make my point clear scrapin frame is one of those people that is looking for somthing for nothing so all of you small business owners beware!


In no way am I "bashing" Ziebart. I am giving a review and informing the local car community of this issue. I had a bad experience and am waiting to see if it will be made right. If it is made right, I will post about it.
The employees I dealt with made me feel uncomfortable and really wanted to point the finger anywhere else but at themselves. When I walk back into the shop to hear from a distance them complaining about me, I find that rude and unprofessional.
1/4" is a big difference to me, and though some customers may not mind this lack of detail, I do mind very much and asked for a specific location because that is where I wanted it. To be told that it is my fault that they sprayed it to high is just downright unprofessional.
The body shop that painted the gate is willing to stand behind their work and fix my paint at no charge to me. The fact that I have to pay to have the rhino lining ground off to the location I wanted is a big issue to me, and anyone professional that stands behind his service would think its a big deal too.
To be bluntly told that "we wont fix it" by an employee is the reason I posted this thread.
scrapin_frame said:
I dont know if they called immediately to be informed of the paint peel. I was called and told that the gate was finished and I could come pick it up. He then said the paint peeled about 1/4" inch.. He did not say that it had peeled 1/4" across nearly the entire length of the gate. I was at work when I took the call, so I didn't have the luxury of time to hash it out over the phone. When I have my analyst sitting next to me, I dont want to get into a heated conversation over the phone.
I am not admitting the fault of my painter. The fault of the paint peel is up in the air. He is stepping forward and taking responsibility and willing to fix the paint and fix the lining for me.
I did call corporate. Because nowhere in the store or on Ziebarts website is there anything about warranty or liability. I called to find out how they handle such a situation. The woman I talked to said she would call the store to discuss it with them. I informed her at that point that I had not seen it and was at that moment on my way to Ziebart to see the gate.
I am simply posting about my experience which is poor. I dont know how that is me trying to get something for nothing. I am stilling going to have to pay for the lining and then take it elsewhere to have both the paint and the lining fixed. Your post, in my eyes, has done nothing but tarnish the image of Mr. ****'s businesses.
To first be told it is my fault, to hear the employees talk about me behind my back before I have even left, and then to have you come on here and accuse me of being shady. That sir, is a poor representation of a business, and totally unprofessional.
scrapin_frame said:
I called Mr **** and discussed things with him. He told me that I've gone about this all wrong, I shouldn't post about it, I should deal with him first. I shouldn't have called corporate. He showed no real concern for the actions or attitudes of his employees. He offered the $25 discount.
I explained my actions of posting it online and calling corporate, but it feels as though it fell on deaf ears.
I went to the store and picked up my tailgate, where they were nice and professional this time. They rang me up at $83 with tax, I declined the $25 discount and paid the full $108 with tax.
If a representative wants to accuse me of wanting something for nothing, I am definitely not going to provide the soapbox for them to stand on.
As it stands, I am not satisfied with the response of the employees or the owner. I received what I interpret as an attitude, which is no way to conduct business. It is my right as a consumer to inform other would-be consumers of my experience, it is up to them to decide what they do with that information.
I have heard several truck guys I work with at the Cat Tech Center talk about getting sprayed-in liners. I don't think I could in good conscience suggest they take it to Ziebart Superstore.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #17
Wow, looking back now, there is alot in this thread to process. It really needs to be moved to another location because it really is a review for the service.
I got the gate back, paid full price, issue finished
 

·
Boozebag
Joined
·
9,001 Posts
I am not an expert, but I've been through 30 years of paint - from lacquer, enamel, arcylic enamel - you get the picture. You have to use substrates that work with top coats, and you have to let them cure for minimum times before top coating. You HAVE to use 2 part primers (primer and reactor) with two stage paints (base/clear), or the bonding factor for top coats is non existent = tape pulling paint off. You also have to SAND the primers before top coating. When you apply the bed liner, the surface applied HAS to be sanded.
Anyway, if the paint pulled with tape removal, in my (useless) opinion, the paint was applied over primer that was too hardened - left on for several days without being sanded - paint has to have a real surface to grab to. In other words, the surface HAS to be sanded to break the top of the primer material. It is almost like a slick surface if you don't sand it. In most cases, there is no problem - because you don't have mechanical abrasion (i.e. scratching or tape removal) so there is no short term problem. Long term - the paint lifts or scratches very easily.
Sorry for the long post, but draw your own conclusions. At least your paint guy is standing behind his work, I don't see the bedliner guy as liable.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #19
I am not an expert, but I've been through 30 years of paint - from lacquer, enamel, arcylic enamel - you get the picture. You have to use substrates that work with top coats, and you have to let them cure for minimum times before top coating. You HAVE to use 2 part primers (primer and reactor) with two stage paints (base/clear), or the bonding factor for top coats is non existent = tape pulling paint off. You also have to SAND the primers before top coating. When you apply the bed liner, the surface applied HAS to be sanded.
Anyway, if the paint pulled with tape removal, in my (useless) opinion, the paint was applied over primer that was too hardened - left on for several days without being sanded - paint has to have a real surface to grab to. In other words, the surface HAS to be sanded to break the top of the primer material. It is almost like a slick surface if you don't sand it. In most cases, there is no problem - because you don't have mechanical abrasion (i.e. scratching or tape removal) so there is no short term problem. Long term - the paint lifts or scratches very easily.
Sorry for the long post, but draw your own conclusions. At least your paint guy is standing behind his work, I don't see the bedliner guy as liable.
My painter said what he thinks may have happened is another person in the shop used 1000 grit on it and that's the reason it peeled.

I do have a liability issue with ziebart still in the fact that they sprayed past the point where I wanted it, so it would have to be repainted even if the paint hadn't peeled.

The paint peel has become a non-issue. The liner being sprayed to high, is my current issue. Luckily my painter is good enough to fix the liner and respray it for me

Here's how the top edge looks



 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,820 Posts
What do they use to get that squared off edge at where the liner ends? Common masking tape cant do that. That has to be some thick edge that wont adhere the liner or cut off with some razor device. Looks to me
 
1 - 20 of 27 Posts
Top