S-10 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So I've been leaking oil for a while adding oil as I go I only drive the truck 2 miles to work And have not had time to address it. Finally did find out there's oil shooting out the oilsensor I noticed the oil is frothy and white almost like it has getting water in it or air or whatever I am no expert by any means but know enough to get myself in trouble. I clean off all the way around the oil pan and everywhere else and the only area it's leaking is from the sensor. should I just replace the sensor and see if my knocking pinging sound goes away or am I denying the inevitable and my oil pump is toast. I have heard all the typical oil pump issues that everyone says Knocking Pinging heavy valve sounds and and also a small whining sound. For I'm also heard and other forms if the sensor's badd it can also mimic similar issues as the oil pump. My question to you guys is should I put in the new sensor fill it up with oil and tested or just quit wasting my time yank the engine do the pump and the sensor all at the same time. I just heard a lot of people saying this sensor can you mimic a bad oil pump

·
Administrator
23,069 Posts
What engine? Are you losing coolant? Have you checked the dipstick? If it looks like a chocolate shake, and the engine has a knock..damage has already been done. Time for a rebuild.

·
Mr Goodwrench's Evil Twin
379 Posts