S-10 Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm also about to change the car's oil for the first time, really don't know how to change the oil for the car. I received a valvoline promo code oil change last week but I don't know if their quality is good. I am a newbie and inexperienced looking for help.
Thanks everyone.

·
Been there Done it
14,404 Posts
Valvoline makes good oil. All kinds of oil. Be sure to get the oil specified in the owners manual for your year and engine.
Synthetic is higher quality oil so you'll want to go with that in the correct viscosity. Don't get synthetic blend. It's nearly as expensive as synthetic and none of the manufacturers specify whether it's 90% synthetic or 2% synthetic. So there is no way to know what you are getting. I'm sure they make a good profit on it. 5 quart jugs are much less expensive per quart, whatever you choose.

Reactions: Joe Cool

·
Premium Member
2003 Sonoma SLS ext. cab 4.3L / 4x4
1,591 Posts
Also be sure to get a quality oil filter. I have used the AC Delco with good success, and I avoid Fram filters.
Edit: Also be sure to save & dispose of the used oil properly - most auto parts stores will accept used motor oil for recycling.

·
Registered
822 Posts
Wix and Napa filters are the same and come highly recommended by most mechanics.

I've heard that Fram has redesigned some of theirs, but I don't care, I won't run 'em. There are plenty of YouTube vids showing several different filters cut apart, the innards tell a lot.

My advice would be to find a car guy, buy the oil and filter (and a drain pan) and a 12-pack. Have him/her talk you through the procedure so you know what's going on. It's not tough.
I still change the oil in all my vehicles myself. It's a PITA but I like having the opportunity to look at everything underside while I'm there. Plus I'm a verified tightwad.

·
Registered
518 Posts