S-10 Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all I hope all is well. I need help with a fuse issue, it started as diagnosing my 4x4 and landed me here.

I have a 2003 gmc Sonoma ZR2 4.3L

under my hood the fuse box has multiple fuses that are not getting power. I changed the fuses and nothing changed then I probed the actual fuse slots with a test light and both sides of the fuse contacts gave me nothing.

the affected fuses are Hvac, Oxysen, ATC and TBC ( his would explain part of my 4x4 issue )

now My two other fuses Trchmsl and Vechmsl, when I probe these the test light comes on very dim and it triggers my brake lights to come on.

im not very good with wiring as is so I don’t really know how to tackle this. Any pointers is greatly appreciated. Thank you all in advance

·
Registered
300 Posts
That's an odd assortment of fuses/circuits to be completely dead, power distribution diagrams don't show any common path between those circuits you listed.
It may be worth removing the fuse box and taking a look underneath to see if something is wrong. Maybe a rodent hung out for a while or maybe corrosion took hold and ate away at terminals in the box.

The Trchmsl fuse is for trailer wiring and the Vechmsl fuse is for stuff like the High Mount brake light, cancel signal to cruise control etc. Both of these fuses only get power when the brake switch is depressed.

Your test light was allowing enough current to pass through it to power the brake lights when you probed those fuses.

·
Registered
2003 Sonoma SLS ext. cab 4.3L / 4x4
562 Posts