S-10 Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Heck yeah thank you guys just bought my first truck 91 Sonoma want to make either a nice off-road truck or a sleeper can't decide yet. She needs alot of cosmetic work, paint job, interior, new tail gate and bumpers. Mechanically it sounds great for 211k on it. It's a 4 cylinder 5 speed. I'm new to the truck life so bare with me sometimes. But I'm looking to redo my suspension first and am having trouble finding a lift kit. Can someone point me in the right direction ?

·
the new guy
905 Posts
its a 4x4?

if its not, I would just do a cruiser until its time to do an engine swap. I would lower it a hair or two, put some wider tires, rear sway bar and go

·
B4U Task Force Admin
25,731 Posts
He wants to lift it...not lower it.

·
B4U Task Force Admin
25,731 Posts
Heck yeah thank you guys just bought my first truck 91 Sonoma want to make either a nice off-road truck or a sleeper can't decide yet. She needs alot of cosmetic work, paint job, interior, new tail gate and bumpers. Mechanically it sounds great for 211k on it. It's a 4 cylinder 5 speed. I'm new to the truck life so bare with me sometimes. But I'm looking to redo my suspension first and am having trouble finding a lift kit. Can someone point me in the right direction ?
Check with @BravadaX on lifting a 2wd.

·
Lifelong S-10 Owner
530 Posts
Look for 3" lift spindles and 2" springs for the front. Fabtech used to make them so do some searching and see what you can find. For the rear there are lift shackles, ad-a-leaf to the spring pack or even flip the axle under the springs for about 5-6" lift. This should get you up and handle a 15x8 rim on the front with same or wider on the rear. Swap the rear axle to a 4.11 ratio to help offset the taller tires. If you also add in a 3" bodylift you should be in the 31-33" tires size range.

·
the new guy
905 Posts