S-10 Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello I'm new to the forum and lifting trucks. I have a 2001 chevy s10 2wd 4.3L that is bone stock other than wheels. I do a lot of light farm work with this truck and would like it sit a little higher when going down a turn road or out in the field to work on equipment so thats why I'm thinking of lifting it and would like some input. I was thinking about getting a Fabtech 3.5 spindle lift and a 2" body lift or a 2" rough country suspension lift and a 2" body lift. Also I want to be able to run 30x9.50 or 31x10.50 mud terrians probably BFG's, Firestones, or Goodyear's. I currently have american racing wheels and I believe the offset is -6mm not sure. Will my current wheels work with these tires? On Fabtech's website it says OEM wheels will not work with oversized tires. Also how hard is it to put the spindles on? (keep in my mind this is my first time doing this) If my wheels won't work does anyone know where I can get a good cheap set of used one's? Anyone's input, answers, or other lift ideas would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
newtolifting

·
3 Leaf Fab
4,082 Posts
On Fabtech's website it says OEM wheels will not work with oversized tires.
fabtech doesnt know squat. the only thing that "doesnt work" about stock rims is they might rub the frame or the fender (the tire that is). honestly the tire does not care what rim its on, as long as its within a certain margin for width compatibility (which they are for the tire size you said). stock rims just have a larger BS than most after market rims and they tend to rub the frame and swaybar with larger tires. after market rims with less BS will make it rub the frame less, but usually make it rub the fender more. im speaking from experience with a 4wd truck but the principles should be the same for the 2wd too.

32x10.5's on stock 4x rims, no lift (89 blazer)

·
Registered
10 Posts