S-10 Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Norcal
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
becasue I have no cat i think the unburned gas is going back to the egr so when i idle it is getting all that cruumy air and it wants to bog. where is the egr on my 2002 so i can sheck to see if this is the problem.

·
Project: Sabriel
12,507 Posts
um...i dont think the cat would result in unburnt gas...just put the cat back on.

·
Registered
412 Posts
I believe the egr comes off the driver side header. So it shouldn't have any effect as far down stream as the cat. You can get a EGR limiter from s10planet, or get a Mach flash to completly eliminate it.

·
carries a gun at work
1,984 Posts
if you have no cat the lack of backpressure is prob causing the bad idle. that or its an unrelated problem.

·
The Dave Inc.
11,720 Posts
i think 2002-2003's have internal EGR's and im no expert but wouldnt the PCV maybe be the cause not the egr?

·
Registered
475 Posts
The egr isn't open when your idling, unless it got stuck open and needs a cleaning. Sorry I don't know where the location is on your engine though.

·
Trance is what I breathe
926 Posts
XS10sive said:
I believe the egr comes off the driver side header. So it shouldn't have any effect as far down stream as the cat. You can get a EGR limiter from s10planet, or get a Mach flash to completly eliminate it.
Are you saying the egr is in the exhaust? Because thats not true

·
loco hombre
3,461 Posts
http://www.s10planet.com/tech_egr.htm

The EGR valve is the goofy round black thing in the picture labeled "We then removed the thermostat cover and pushed it aside to create more...". Its right next to the exposed thermostat in that pic. You can get a new gasket for the EGR for like $2 if you need to remove it for whatever reason (cleaning, for instance)

·
Norcal
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
whenever i idle for awhile my truck bogs after that like its getting bad air i have 2002 how ca i do the egr MOd

·
Norcal
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #11