S-10 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
2000 GMC Sonoma SLS 2.2L 5MT
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I've had my Sonoma for about 3 months now, so I'm still learning little things here and there about the truck.

In my truck, whenever the parking brake is released, the headlights turn on. I know this since the radio dims and the tail lights turn on. I always thought only the S10s have the DRLs which is where the high beams are so I never thought much of it. I was curious so I looked up a GMC Sonoma commercial and, well, here's what they are supposed to look like.

Screenshot 2021-01-09 at 7.26.00 PM.png

So can someone confirm the 2000 Sonoma also has DRLs. Could the previous owner have possibly changed a setting or something? I might be in the minority by saying this, but I actually really like how the DRLs look. Probably adds a bit of safety too. Thanks.

·
B4U Task Force Admin
27,031 Posts
They have DRL's. In fact, the headlight will turn off when the turn signal is used.

·
Registered
182 Posts
I believe 95 was the first year of DRL's in the S10/Sonoma. Basically they are the same truck. However I now see Rhotpursuit beat me.....what he said....

·
B4U Task Force Admin
27,031 Posts
I believe 95 was the first year of DRL's in the S10/Sonoma. Basically they are the same truck. However I now see Rhotpursuit beat me.....what he said....
DRL's showed up in '96. This came up the other day.

·
Registered
98 2.2 Extended cab, 2001 V6 Extended cab Sport Suspension, 2001 V6 Extended Cab 4x4
582 Posts
If you have auto headlights the sensor that is not installed correctly, ie under/inside the dash it will think the truck is in the dark and turn the headlights on.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
They have DRL's. In fact, the headlight will turn off when the turn signal is used.
Ok definitely something's not right with mine then. I'll pull off the speaker and see how the sensor's doing. Thank you.