S-10 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the lowering thing.

Now, when you lower a truck do you have to get it re-alignded?

Is it dangerous to switch you coils? how is it done, and I hear it takes about 2 hours per side.

How short after you do a drop should you get an alignment?

Today I put just 3 inch blocks in the rear, cause I need some help with the coils, but will i need to align it with just a rear drop?

How fast does your tread wear?

Thanks for any help. It is very appreciated!

·
Registered
1,296 Posts
spindles up front....give you a better ride and its pretty easy.. and yes an alignment is needed.

·
Never Finished
1,599 Posts
An alignment is necessary any time ride height is changed at any corner or axle. If you've just got the 3" blocks in the rear, you don't want to drive it much without dropping the front and having it aligned. With that much of a drop, your front in is WAY out of alignment..hurry up and do the front. Coils aren't too hard...they're easier than spindles. Shouldn't take 2 hours per side unless you're really slow or you run into lots of problems, like ball joints not coming loose, but you should be alright.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Is there a hard part to coils?

or does it just take time?

To get the coils in place do you have to jack them in? Some people say a compressor.

·
EX-Minitrucker
3,978 Posts
Xtreme03 said:
An alignment is necessary any time ride height is changed at any corner or axle.
Not for the rear though unless you royally screw something up when you install your blocks.

There is a how-to install thread for coils under the "How-to" section" that will answer most of your questions.

·
Hates 'know-it-alls'
26,065 Posts