S-10 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
354 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi all, well i am new to the lowering trend, i have a 1985 s10 which i installed a set of 3" lowering blocks. the problem i have is that i still want a better lowering stands i did not do anything to the front but was going to cut the springs because of funds. anyways i was told that i can remove like two leafs from the rear to lower it more. is this ok to do and if so which ones. now remember. i don't have the big bucks alot of you bigdogs do and please save me the smart remarks. just asking for a little help. this is my truck.

·
Eric
2,926 Posts
Sure, just go ahead and hack off 3 coils and pull out all but one leaf...Stock shocks will work fine with that setup. (Don't do this)

Smart remarks aside, there are 2 ways to drop the front and maintain quality and safety without completely emptying the bank.
-2" Spindles will run you about $160 new.
-3" Coils will run you about $100 new with $60 for new shocks (a must).
As for the rear, I've never pulled leafs so I can't give you advice on that one. There are threads all over the place about that though...read up.

You gotta pay to play man, if you aren't willing to pay then you jeopardize your own life by taking the cheap/"easy" way out.
I've been working on my 5/6 drop for about 2+ years now...when I have the money something comes up...shit takes time.

·
Registered Hoosier
4,795 Posts
If you are going to cut front springs, you do not want to go more than about 2" in the front. Look around for some used 2" spindles, cut a coil, then see how it sits.

42,004 Posts
Sure, just go ahead and hack off 3 coils and pull out all but one leaf...Stock shocks will work fine with that setup. (Don't do this)

Smart remarks aside, there are 2 ways to drop the front and maintain quality and safety without completely emptying the bank.
-2" Spindles will run you about $160 new.
-3" Coils will run you about $100 new with $60 for new shocks (a must).