S-10 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know a lot of people are gonna hate the fact that I wasn’t to lift my 2wd Sonoma but keep in mind I do plan to 4wd convert it eventually, I’m just a college student so I can’t afford that quite yet, and I really wanted it to be lifted before the Daytona truck meet this year, so my question is whether or not the fabtech spindle lift will work with an extended cab Sonoma cause I have heard that the extended cab have slightly larger springs then the regular cab and I just wanted to verify that nothing else was different and that the fabtech spindles would work, I also wanted to make sure I got everything figured out, I have lift shackles and shock extensions for the rear and I was planning on getting an extended shock for the front, and obviously extended brake lines all around, I heard that the factory driveshaft should be good up to 5 inches (I don’t plan on going anymore then 3 max) and I planned on replacing the ball joints when I put the spindles in (from my understanding a spindle lift won’t alter their position much so they shouldn’t wear much quicker then stock let me know if I’m wrong) was their anything else I needed or should do while I’m in there and do you guys have any recommendations for front shocks that will work with a 3 inch lift?

·
Registered
98 2.2 Extended cab, 2001 V6 Extended cab Sport Suspension, 2001 V6 Extended Cab 4x4
849 Posts
As for the spindles, they should work just fine. Regular cab and extended cab spindles are the same from the factory.

Converting a 2wd to 4wd is not going to be easy or cheap. If you want a 4wd just buy one. The frames and front suspension are totally different, so is the transmission and you would need a transfer case as well... oh and then there is the wiring and computer too... You will be spending $5000 for a good condition truck, possibly a ZR2 at that price, or 3 to 4 x that much on a conversion.