S-10 Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Dead Project Truck
649 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ive seen bagged trucks in mags, parked at shows, aired up while driving, etc for years. But until the other nite, i had never seen a bag set up in action. I was driving home on the expressway with my 97 S10 which is dropped 3/4 and this dude pulled up next to me in a 98. He started playing with the switches and if there had been another car ahead of me I probably would have crashed my own truck. I couldnt stop watching the guys truck! Anyways, this is something ive got to have. I dont think I want to do it to my nice daily driver.

But I do have a 91 sonoma std cab short bed thats been just sitting around for a while. Ive been planning on doing other things like shaving and setting the firewall further back, interior work, etc. Im new to the whole bag thing, but have been reading up. So far it seems that buying all of the stuff and doing all of the work myself except for the welding (which should be done by professionals) will save a lot of the cost. And that bolt on kits are more costly and sometimes more problematic than weld on items. At home I can install my own front bags, airlines, valves, gauges, compressor(s), and wiring, then only have to pay a shop to do the entire rear install and weld of the front shock relocators. Does this sound right? So here is what I know that I want from my truck when its bagged: It has to handle good-no excessive body roll when going around corners and it has to not be bouncy, just front/back action-dont want any s/s, it has to be a one time install with no need to go back and redo things later.
Speed needs to be decent, but not lightning fast. I have no desire to hop it or crack the pavement when I air the truck out. Just fast enough that I can play with the bags when the urge strikes. So with all of this in mind, what would any of you recommend?

·
Registered
13,733 Posts
Everything sounds good except your demands...