S-10 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a '97 S10 xCab, automatic 4.3L vortec. I am either going to get a new intake or exhaust soon. What do you guys think is best to get first? And what are the best brands for each? I am new to the truck scene, as I had an import before. let me just say, i am much happier with my S10. :) As far as an exhaust goes, i want something that is a bit deeper and throatier. I think the best sounding cars are the old muscle cars with nice exhaust systems. I want my truck to sound something like that. Obviously I cant make it sound exactly like that. And I know i cant make it sound like a V8 either, but something that would make it rumble a bit. And i dont really mind having it a bit louder in the cab either, so it doesnt have to be the Flowmaster DeltaFlow series. I have heard good things about Borla exhausts. Any info. and/or links to sites where I can purchase these items would be greatly appreciated. Thanks everyone!

--Chris
AIM: changeyez and (at work) ckdawgck

·
Audi Tech
2,485 Posts
go with a k&n intake, they have a heat shield, u'll want cooler air so this helps. most people seem to go with flowmaster. i'm sure others will post with what they like. good luck

·
Dain Bramaged Member
1,583 Posts
go with the ehaust first, that's normally the most restriced part of a stock engine, as for the intake, you can remove the MAF screen, and get a K&N cone filter the last 4 digits of the part # are 0810, and you can then remove the stock airbox, that;ll give you more of the sound you want, and about the same performance as going with exhaust and a full intake...

·
Freak of Nature
41 Posts
I have the Flowmaster 40-series Delta Flow and I am very happy with it. Nice rumble at idle. All I have on the intake side for now is a drop in K&N which helps, but definitely not enough.

·
Dain Bramaged Member
1,583 Posts