S-10 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 70 Posts

·
165432 Newbie MEOW!
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all! I'm a newbie here on this board. longtime member on "some other" s-dime board, but it seems like you guys are waaaay more active and knowledgeable on here. so here goes...

2001 4.3 Xtreme

i had a lifter colapsed/stuck due to the typical intake gasket leaking coolant into the block. i ordered the o.e. roller lifter set made by comp cams. (850-12)

http://www.jegs.com/i/Comp%20Cams/249/850-12/10002/-1

and the good $80 intake gasket set from felpro. long story short, now it won't start. i marked the rotor and the dist body before removal, but it still seems like a timing issue. so i started by moving the dist 180 degrees. no luck. one way, it seems to pop from the tail pipe, but only on one cylinder. the other way, it seems to lock-up or stop for a second, but only one one cyl per rotation. (seems to be the same cyl everytime.) it is getting spark, and i checked the fuel pressure at 60+psi. and it has good compression in cyl one and two...i have yet to check the rest. i got the # 1 cyl at tdc on the compression stroke, then lined the rotor up with the # 1 lug inside the dist cap. it then cranks about 3 full revolutions before it "locks up" for about a quarter second, then it seems like it does it on the same cyl for the rest of the time while it's cranking.

i realllllly don't wanna do this again. i tried moving the dist a tooth at a time, but it got realllly frustrating, and it was late (3am) so i got a lil confused. it's gettin it's battery charged rite now.

i've contemplated the idea that the new lifters are bad/wrong!!! i soaked the lifters in oil prior to installing them.

the last thing i tried...was puting about a tablespoon of gas in the throttle body. it seemed like maybe it wanted to start, but the battery died during this crank session.