S-10 Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here. I have an 88 S10 and the wiper switch packed it in. I know the grey wire is low speed and the purple wire is high speed on the motor. What are the other two wires for? I can get the motor to go by directly applying power to the grey or purple wire but I don't want to wire in a dashmounted toggle until I know what the other two wires are for, anybody help me out with this? I would they are grounds but even with the harness unplugged and power directly to ONE of the pins I get wipers.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Upon searching the forums for related stuff, I am now sure one of the wires is to park the wipers. Any ideas as I will probably need to hook that baby up so I don't have to play the 'time the wiper' game.

BTW, I will be filling out my sig with whats been done to my truck.

Thanks
Greg

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Also forgot to mention that I don't think it is the board in the motor housing as I had smoke pour out the steering column at the lever. It's supposed to rain in the next couple days so if anyone has some insight into the harness that would be great. I found the flat connector under the dash for the wipers, tested with direct power again with the same results.

Thanks again
Greg

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well, since no one replied I figured I would post what I did to fix a broken wiper switch.

For sub $30.00 I got it fixed with low/high and wash. I found a couple fixes involving toggles and racker switches and such but I didn't want that. I went with three push buttons (1 momentary and 2 latch) located in the rocker switch punch out above the headlight switch.