S-10 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
C.L.I.T. Commander
431 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
since the 4.3 does 165 hp, modded around 200, how much faster is it than stock? is it really worth it to put approx. 1000 or more into the engine? how competitive can i really be? im just beginning to wonder if spending all this money is gonna be worth it. whats your opinions?

·
4-Door Blazin'
81 Posts
It'll never be a Corvette, but if you've got the cash you can make these things move.....I personally only put alittle bit of money into performance, otehrwise the majority of my cash goes to audio/appearance mods for exactly this reason.

·
C.L.I.T. Commander
431 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
yeah, i was just wonderin, cause im considering maybe a 350 instead, wondering what would be faster by the time i hit about 1500 bucks invested? so pretty much a stock 350 or a nicely modded 262. whats your thoughts?

·
Resident Mechanic
365 Posts
just buy a old 4.3 block for about 50$ from a salvage yard and slowly buy parts for it when u get the cash pistons, lifts, cam, roots blower by the time u spend maybe 4500 could be less could be a little more you should have a nice 300+ hp 4.3 then just drop it in ur truck

·
C.L.I.T. Commander
431 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
why dont i just do that to my stock engine? thatd work, wouldnt it? for my engine ive found:

pistons
rods (f*ckin expensive)
lifters
cams
springs
rockers

i havent found:
heads

what else would i need? id love to keep the 4.3, and id like to hit 250 hp, i plan on tearing apart the engine if i keep it.

·
Self Portrait
1,632 Posts
Build the bottom end so that it can take lots of Nitrous, that way you have everyday driveability and the power to kick some butt when you need it!

·
C.L.I.T. Commander
431 Posts
Discussion Starter #7