S-10 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Long story short, 85 s10 blazer 4x4, 2.8 liter, original roch carb. Trying To change fuel filter, fitting for the fuel line has been,
Unscrewed, but the gas line wont move,
Im loosening the inlet nut on carb, to get to filter out, but fuel line is still where it normally should be.except that the fuel inlet fitting moved a smidge down the fuel line. Can i just keep unscrewing the inlet nut out? Am doing this cause the blazer has been running like a slug, and its been backfiring through carb. While under load and as well as warm up, and accelerating at stop lights. Any advice on the filter problem would be much appreciated. Thanx :) ps, im a novice at best.

·
overthinker extraordinar
650 Posts
If I understand you correctly, the nut the surrounds the fuel line, the nut that has the fuel line through it, is completely loose, but the line will not budge? Correct? You then moved to the nut that is attached to the carb.

Your question is, can you unscrew the carb nut while the fuel line is in place without damaging the fuel line? The answer is maybe. I would put some effort into moving the fuel line. It should pull straight out. Do you have the nut completely out and separated from the carb nut?

Next thing, backfires through the carb are not a fuel filter problem. That is normally one of three things that I know of.

1st, timing is way off
2nd, cam is worn and causing problems
3rd, timing chain is stretched and has jumped a tooth

The slug problem is or could be, the Rochester. There is one guy on this site that loves them and praises them. Most of us who have had the weber carb (after the Rochester) curse them.

good luck

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3