S-10 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
stock is the new fixed up
530 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well my heads are home from school. I didnt get as much done as I wanted, I just started porting and need the right bits with long shanks on them. I did 2 intake ports near the valve seat, just shaping with a carbide bit so far, havnt gotten into the stones yet.

Original shot.

Ported, notice how the top no longer has the taper in, goes straight into the valve.

Original shot.

Ported.

Overall.

Spring pocket and valve stem work.

Closeup on machining.

2.02/1.6" valves. :D

·
Registered
481 Posts
coming along nicely

·
Registered
126 Posts
Did you cut the valve seats yourself for the larger valves? If so, looks good.

I've been porting heads for a couple years now, it takes practice, but i'll get easier/faster.

Are you plannig on deshrouding the valves? Typically on SBC heads (of course similar to 4.3 heads) larger valves will flow less unless you deshroud the valves.

·
530 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
In the overall pic only 2 intake valves were worked on. Ive done all the work myself including valve seats, im not sure what deshrouding the valves is, but I did put a 25degree backcut on them to knock off the corner from the 45. I didnt want to get too crazy with the backcuts because I dont want to lose too much margin to seat on, this is going to be my daily driver.

·
Registered
1,561 Posts
Its looking good, I wish I had the knowledge to port my own heads. There's a lot of good information on improving flow #'s on vortec heads around the internet. I wish I could point you to it, but I had a post about a year and a half ago where there was some awesome advice. Might be worth a search.

·
Registered
1,561 Posts
Another thing, since you got the heads off you might as well elongate the pushrod hole incase you ever want to run 1.6 rockers and machine the heads for 3/8" studs.

·
530 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
mcgruff1 said: