S-10 Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. I do not yet own a 2.2 but have been reading on teh forums for a little while now. Hope you dont mind. I did own a 2.5 S dime which died about a week ago. I am in the market for a 2.2 5 speed so I have been trying to find out as much about them as I can. I drive for a living so I need the best mileage i can get. Why don't I just get an econo box? You may ask? welll because I will use this vehicle for other than business and I like to always have a vehicle with a bed so I can move things when I want. I know a lot of you are modding your 2.2s for power and thats awesome by me. However I have another vehicle that i use for straight up HP so I am looking to use this vehicle just as a daily driver and hopefully get good fuel economy. I know my 2.5 was halfway decent at fuel economy if I kept my foot off the gas pedal since they have such a high rear end. I think you guy say you are getting about 19 city and 27 highway? is that about true? What can I do to an engine like this to help fuel economy? will an air intake help that much? I would think an entire air intake system would help MPG a little more than just a K&N filter. Do K&N filters help MPG at all? How much would a catback exhaust system help? would gutting my car or installing pipe inplace of my cat and muffler help MPG a lot or minimal? I would think that Good quality plugs and wires would help you get the most you can. Please help me out in this area. I dont know a whole lot about engines. (about the exhaust thing, I dont care about loudness. All the other vehicles i drive are my fathers and he doesnt take to kindly to emmissions equipment when it comes to exhaust systems!)

·
old fart
939 Posts
I get 24 in town, and 30 on the highway, I have a K&N FIPK genII, Jet Chip stage II, and a FlowMaster original 40 series w/turndown

·
Registered
93 Posts