S-10 Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm trying to find out what retainer bearing hub I need. Everywhere I look.. I get different answers. I have a 1994 Chevy s10 4.3l 5 speed Nv3500 Transmisson. The old hub has a bunch of numbers on the front of it, but im either putting them in the wrong order or something. I been stuck on this for 3 days now. The pivot ball will not line up with the fork and throwout bearing. I'm ASSUMING it's the hub. Ive rechecked everything else. There is a deep wear completely around the hub. So I figure it's worn down so a new one would raise me up enough to attach the pivot ball. I raised the fork off the throwout bearing to where it's half on and half off is the only way it will work. I figured you wasn't supposed to do that.?,? I'm new to all this stuff and I will say. It can make you feel really stupid. It's bad enough being poor and trying to do it myself. But poor and stupid is to much. Please help.?

·
Been there Done it
10,458 Posts
Are you sure you have the right throw out bearing? If you have one that isn't the right length it'll throw that pivot arms geometry all out of wack. I learned this the hard way many years ago. Compare the length of the new and old throw outs. Hopefully you haven't thrown out the old throw out.
Having learned the hard way I always set them side by side on the bench before installing the trans. Saves doing it twice.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3