S-10 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Recently purchased my first S10 and I have a few questions if someone could help me. I've read all the cruise control comments and if I understand right my 1999 base model 2.2 l S10 5 speed I need to replace the entire wiring harness? does anyone have anything good or bad to say about the aftermarket cruise control package you buy from online has anyone done this? I'm disabled I was a police officer for almost 20 years and I was severely injured in the line of duty. As such cruise control would make my life a little less painful. Thanks Sgt

·
B4U Task Force Admin
27,036 Posts
Moved to Electrical/Lighting.

Welcome..Thanks for your service.

·
Registered
60 Posts
Welcome, and thank you for your service! I have a 1999 2.2L 5speed as well - love my truck - practical, gets the job done and great gas mileage. Am I correct in reading you don't have cruise control in your truck, and you are trying to install a cruise control system either retro-fit a stock unit or an aftermarket?
Ken

·
Registered
60 Posts
I've attached the schematics for the 1999 cruise control circuits, and the bottom of this contains the circuit operation steps. Electrically, there's a new multifunction switch on the column, switches for the brake and clutch pedals, and the control module itself. The below description does identify "an electrical harness" (I bolded and underlined it in the list) that may be the unique harness (a "sub harness") you have been discovering in your research, however there does not seem to be a difference to the basic harness installed in your vehicle requiring it to be replaced.

Here's the system description:
  • The cruise control system maintains a desired vehicle speed under normal driving conditions.
  • The cruise control system also has the capability to perform the following functions:
    • Coast
    • Resume speed
    • Accelerate
    • Increase speed in 1.6 km/h (1 mph) increments