S-10 Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay so im new to the s10 and domestic world (I love imports). I just bought a 93 Sonoma that had a engine fire a couple years ago when the previous owners poured gas into the intake to get it to fire. The wires going to the injectors, ignition coil/dizzy, and couple other wires and vacuum lines got burned up. So when I bought it they were taped back up. I tried to get it to fire with starter fluid and nothing. I checked for spark and got nothing. injectors don't fire. I soldered all the wires I could get to without taking anything a part.

so heres the questions:
could the fire have over heated the wires and possibly fried the ecu(I have heard of it happening before)?
does anyone have any advice for me on where to start?
finally, does anyone have a wiring diagram for the engine bay? I want to look over all of the wiring.

sorry for the kinda long post. thanks in advance for an help.

·
Administrator
20,900 Posts
Fire damage is a hard thing to repair. I'd look for a new harness. You'll be chasing gremlins forever.

·
Awww..you ain't got shit!
3,268 Posts
Here's the million dollar question...Obviously if the prior owner burned it pouring gas in it, obviously there was an issue already that probably had nothing to do with the fire. So what was up with it when they set fire to it?