S-10 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Poke Smot
445 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I just finished cleaning up the gun etc. The Nason duPont paint needs a "medium" coat, let tack, and then a full wet coat. Well I don't know what the heck I was thinking - I Effed It All Up. My fault. Ugly runs. This is my first time using automotive paint, I have sprayed tons of Latex paint as I am a paint by trade. When I saw the runs my instinct grabbed a rag and whipped it off and then resprayed:rant: I effed it.

So...all I can do is wait a couple days and then start standing it down with the DA with 400 grit. Right? Do I need to actually sand the paint off and start over or can I just sand it till its smooth and then try again? :(

·
Poke Smot
445 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
My bad for the pointless rant, I am just venting. Pretty disapointed I gotta pretty much start all over and probably re tape and mask everything dammit.

·
Heavy Metal Body Man
5,363 Posts
well... it was savable up til you grabbed a rag a wiped it off, it depends on where it was run at, but if it was near the bottom, you could have ran it right off the edge and you would never know, but if it was in the middle all you can do is continue painting like normal, but youd have some sanding and buffing to do the next day.... it still -might- be savable without redoing it... what does it look like?

its funny that you mention latex paint, ive tried spraying latex a few times and i screw it up every time, but base coat clear coat i can lay down blind folded

·
Poke Smot
445 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)