S-10 Forum banner

Educate me on SD / MAF

1K views 4 replies 3 participants last post by  EZA 
#1 ·
As I have stated before I'm new to LS engines but reading all I can to increase my knowledge. My project is a 98 S10 step-side short bed, L33,
4L65E, 3:42 / 8.6 DB. Only modification to the engine is an LS6 intake manifold and a ZO6 (LS3) cam and hopefully a set of cast exhaust manifolds. I have just read an article on speed density vs mass air flow sensor, so I have a basic understanding. Which do you think would be the better for a street driven vehicle as describe above and why. Can the engine above be set up to run with either, I using the pcm that came with the L33 and a fully integrated CPW harness.

#2 · (Edited)
So Speed Density is old school... and was only used OEM for a few short years. The benefit of Speed Density is its a lot easier to dyno tune for especially on high horse engines. Its done for a few other reasons. MAF sensor position and placement, as well as correct MAF scaling in the tune, is critical to making a MAF tune work well. Unfortunately this can be tough if the MAF sensor is located too close to an elbow, or the filter is too close etc, MAF sensors need very laminar streamlined flow to read correctly. Throttle tip-in is also a bit harder to tune well with MAF on bigger displacement engines since the delta between tip in and WOT is larger in absolute airflow g/s so getting the scaling right is a bit tougher. It also works well for custom intake setups e.g. holley/edlebrock mid-rise/high rise w/ 4b tb etc. Many aftermarket self-learn systems such as Holley's HP EFI are functionally working on SD principles allowing them to omit the MAF altogether in some setups.