S-10 Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

First time poster. I've been using this forum to help replace the head gasket on my 4.3 1998 s10. I'm not a mechanic by any means but I've got a FSM and time. I've just completed the job and the gaskets appear to be taking.

I thought all was well, but then I found a leak pooling between the intake and passenger side valve cover. I had hoped the valve cover just didn't take, but I replaced that with no results. I spayed soapy water along the lower intake gaskets looking for bubbles. Nothing.

I fired the engine up again the other day with more light and found a leak at the heater hose fitting on the intake. I took a few pictures of it. I can hear air escaping when I squeeze the lower radiator hose. I didn't take a picture of the fitting without the hose attached, but it is rusted pretty bad. Bits of the fitting have fallen off, I can see how it may not seal properly anymore. I'm wanting to be done working on this truck already.

Am I just being a bonehead and missing something?

Can I just rtv or jb weld this?

If I need to replace it, does anyone know the thread size? I think I remember attempting to remove the fitting when I had the intake off, but it wouldn't budge. I read about some folks breaking the fitting trying to remove it.

Side note, the coolant looked similar to oil because of the coolant flush.

tl;dr This heater hose is leaking and I think its because the heater hose fitting has corroded where it seals. Do I need to replace the fitting or am I not sealing it correctly?

Fluid Auto part Gas Automotive tire Electric blue

·
B4U Task Force Admin
30,758 Posts
Looks more like oil than coolant. Get some brake cleaner and clean the area. Give it a little while and check it again.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Looks more like oil than coolant. Get some brake cleaner and clean the area. Give it a little while and check it again.