S-10 Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
murse
13,429 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a total noob to body work/ repair and by that I mean I've never done it before. Lol. I would love to learn some basic techniques and therefore have a question. Does anyone have any good resources of advice or tool recommendations I can use to fix this? I know it's a process and more than a fee forum posts can handle but I would love some starting advice. Thanks.
Tire Wheel Automotive tail & brake light Car Vehicle
Automotive parking light Automotive tail & brake light Tire Wheel Vehicle
Automotive parking light Automotive tail & brake light Automotive side marker light Tire Vehicle

Sent from my SM-S908U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
3,805 Posts
remove taillight, use a 24 with a small piece of 2x2 screwed on the edge so it looks like an L. put that in the tail light hole and pry it around while you push the dented in sheetmetal out. You can get creative and grind the wood to a more rounded piece of wood and have a nice buck to slightly hammer on the outside of the bed against the wood.
You can work that dent almost 100% back to perfect..youll need to go at it from the light hole and from underneath the bed. But that is thin sheetmetal right there, and very easily workable.

·
Premium Member
2003 Sonoma SLS ext. cab 4.3L / 4x4
1,796 Posts
There's also probably some decent youTube videos for 'beginners for bodywork", which may also be helpful. Here's a link that may get you started:
https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=auto+body+repair+for+beginners+
However, stay away from any suggested 'fix' of just filling up the entire deformation with a big old blob of Bondo. And the key to all good bodywork is the proper preparation. Take your time, do it right, and you should only need to do it once. This is a relatively straightforward 'boo boo' to deal with. Keep us posted on how it goes, and drop back by with any more questions.

·
murse
13,429 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·