S-10 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been having this problem with my '89 4.3L Jimmy since I got it. It will idle fine for a bit then every once in a while the engine idle seems to get caught up and hesitate. It will come back right away but it keeps doing it like a cycle. Same thing while sitting at stop lights. Other than that it seems to drive well. I have replaced the folowing:

New Plugs(bosch platinum)
Checked the wires and replaced one i broke
New Air Filter
New PVC valve

It still has the problem with the idle and the hesitation and I am not sure what to look at next.

·
Kramerica Industries
342 Posts
O.K., I'm no mechanic, but two things I woud start with would be:

1) Fuel filter

2) Distributer cap/rotor

·
Clean N' Dark
1,921 Posts
Is the temp controls on defrost when this happens? Sounds like the AC system cycling on and off.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Already did a distrubuter cap and rotor today, didn't help. Going to try the fuel filter tonight. AC is turrned off.

Chris

·
Street Cruiser
448 Posts
mine is doing the same thing. i've replaces ALL spark Plugs, Wires, Dist cap, rotor, Fuel Filter, um... pcv valve, new air filter ( till i clean my k&N) And i also have an '89 4.3 with 189,000 miles, Oh yeah, the TPS also. I still havn't figured it out.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
mechanic98 said:
mine is doing the same thing. i've replaces ALL spark Plugs, Wires, Dist cap, rotor, Fuel Filter, um... pcv valve, new air filter ( till i clean my k&N) And i also have an '89 4.3 with 189,000 miles, Oh yeah, the TPS also. I still havn't figured it out.
Mine had a sticky valve or a blown ring something that was letting massive amounts of oil into the #1 cylander. I pulled my plug and it was caked with oil. Hopefully you don't have the same problem.

·
Registered
86 Posts