S-10 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
~~~~
23,957 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We had a trailer at work so I got under it and took some pics ;)

looks like a 2-link and 2 valve setup ;) lol
no side side.

and would you trust that air tank? ha ha

Just found this interesting and wanted to share.

·
~~~~
23,957 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
joeysDYME said:
....and sharing is caring..:monkeypee heres a little something for ya..:D
lol.. gee um thanks :dunno:
:p

·
~~~~
23,957 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
joeysDYME said:
you are welcome..:popcorn:
wow that reminds me .. I could go for some popcorn.. hmmmmm..

brb.

·
Low -n- slow s10
420 Posts
whos gonna be the first one to put those bags on a dime? :rotf:

·
2LO4BC
2,859 Posts
im an apprentise transport mechanic and i work on these stupid things all day...noting fancy really. peterbilts really just use a 2 link air leaf with a panhard bar...the newer kenworths 700, 800 and 900's have a pretty cool looking 3 link wishbone suspension with 4 bags per axle.
on trailers its just a 2 link. most trailers have an air tank for each axle that feeds the bags and brake pods. its actually pretty interesting to know how everything works. air enters the service side of the brake pod, releasing the spring presure, pushing the push rod out to twist the slack adjuster which rotates the s-cam which spreads the brake shoes out inside the drum.

·
~~~~
23,957 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
lowriderbowtie said:
im an apprentise transport mechanic and i work on these stupid things all day...noting fancy really. peterbilts really just use a 2 link air leaf with a panhard bar...the newer kenworths 700, 800 and 900's have a pretty cool looking 3 link wishbone suspension with 4 bags per axle.